A bit of everything

These past few days have been crazy busy. So many things going on, between the kid’s school activities and weekend family days.

On the weekend we did some gardening in the front where my planter boxes are. Weeded and cleaned up the gardens and plants. Also transplanted a few plants. This weekend I will be planting my spring/ summer crop. I plan to grow some corn, cucumbers, tomatoes, spring onion, zucchini, rock melon. And hopefully they grow. I usually get good summer crops. Though with our cat being an indoor and outdoor cat he likes digging around in my pots. I may have to create a cover for it with mesh and pvc piping.

My daughter taught me how to french knit and we did a bit of that on the weekend. She is really getting into crochet and knit. And learning fast too!

Had the inlaws over for dinner last night so it was a feast. Made satay chicken skewers. Peanut satay sauce. Steamed cabbage, broccoli and corn kernels. And some rice.

The sauce was the best ever.

One small onion finely diced.

Tablespoon of minced garlic.

Teaspoon canola oil.

Teaspoon balsamic vinegar.

Tablespoon lemon juice.

1/2 cup water.

1/2 cup chunky (or smooth) peanut butter.

Put oil and onion in a pan on high heat. Cook till soft. Add garlic. Cook til golden. Take off heat and add in the peanut butter. Stir till soft and melted. Put on low heat. Add water, lemon juice, balsamic vinegar. Stir and cook for 1 minute. Serve.

So good. I doubled it because I used half to serve in a bowl for people to add more to their liking. And the other half was used to marinade the diced chicken on the skewers. And those I baked in the oven at 180 for about 30-40 minutes. (There were 24 skewers all up).

Today I have heaps of laundry to fold and tidying up to.. hopefully I can crochet.. I’m itching to work on my blanket.

One thought on “A bit of everything

Leave a Reply

