Beanies!!!

So ..

I have made the kids a few beanies in this past year of crocheting. Really fun to do.

Well, my oldest has worn a couple of them to school and her friends have expresses interest in them and a couple have asked if they may have one too.

Sure you can!!! I’m happy to make you girls a beanie. I’d love to. 🙂

A few days ago I went crazy yarn shopping and got 142 balls of yarn. Heh … oops. Lol. I may have a little bit of a problem. Maybe? Aw well. Haha

I couldn’t resist!! Aldi had a special buys special of yarn! 8ply 100g acrylic for $1.49 each! Bargain! So I emptied a couple of stores. Lol

Well since I have all this yarn to use up… beanies for all!!

I decided to jazz them up a bit and make them double stranded instead of just the one strand. And have them chunky. Perfect!

Made them a bit bigger than the pattern for teens said so that the bottom could be rolled up.. or the could have it slouch a little at the top. Totally up to them. It’s not elastic so it’s quite loose-fitting on the head.. which is always nice. Tight fitting beanies can get annoying after a while and make you feel claustrophobic because your head isn’t breathing as well. If that makes sense.

10-11 year olds. I don’t think they’d really care either way though.

So onto the beanies! They have turned out just fabulous.

I used my go to double crochet beanie pattern that I always use, just make adjustments if I’m doing a specific beanie design or whatnot.

It is a great pattern to follow for a basic beanie. I used this to make my son’s Pokémon beanie..

FB_IMG_1494556544133.jpg

And also used it for my daughter’s little butterfly design beanie..

20170512_152244.jpg

Just make adjustments to fit what you want. Too easy.

Now for the current set. I still need 5 more. But here we are..

20170512_174112.jpg

Double stranded with 2 different colours.

Made my oldest one too, she loved how they felt and looked and asked if she could have a pompom on top of hers..

IMG_20170512_212118_796.jpg

Perfect! Just awesome. Love them. Might use this to make myself a bun beanie.

Off I go to make 5 more. Toodles!

Leave a Reply

